The next Whakamānawa ā Taiao Awards is scheduled for 2025

Northland Regional Council has decided to revise the frequency of the Whakamānawa ā Taiao - Environmental Awards. The awards will now be held every two years.

You can register your interest for 2025 in the form below.

The Northland Regional Council Whakamānawa ā Taiao - Environmental Awards recognise the people and organisations making a difference for Northland's environment. Their commitment and incredible contributions are helping our environment thrive and their mahi is highly valued. Entrants can be individuals, community groups, schools, whānau, hapū, iwi businesses or leaders and can apply in up to two of the nine environmental categories featured.


The work you’re doing to improve the environment of Te Taitokerau is important and we want to recognise that.

Often, we’re so busy getting the mahi done we don’t take the time to realise the difference we are making. Sharing your mahi not only raises your profile but inspires others who are also working tirelessly to achieve their environmental goals.

Finalists in each category will have the opportunity to network and share success stories at the awards event. Winners of each category will receive a cash prize of $1000 and a beautiful locally designed trophy. They will also be eligible for the Te Tohu Matua - Supreme Award. Category winners will receive a session with a professional videographer/photographer to capture their stories. Check out past videos on the ‘previous winners’ page.

We’re extremely proud of the programme we provide here for our tamariki and whānau and to be recognised with these awards is truly humbling.”
Anna Alexander – Comrie Park Kindergarten


If you’re an individual, community group, school, whānau, hapū, iwi, business, or leader working on an environmental project within the Northland region, you could apply be eligible for an award. You can nominate yourself, or someone else with their approval.

All entries must demonstrate significant benefit to the region’s environment. We’re looking for initiatives that align with Northland Regional Council’s core areas of focus of healthy waters, flourishing native life, resilient communities, a strong economy, effective transport networks and meaningful partnerships with tangata whenua.

A significant component of the work you have done must have happened recently. The full entry criteria will outline what you need to include in your application and the rules of entry. This will be available when entries open in 2025.

“Entering is a great experience which helped boost staff morale and gave us positive recognition in the community.
Paul Bonetti – United Civil


The next Whakamānawa ā Taiao Awards is scheduled for 2025.

Interested in entering in 2025? Register your interest below.

We will be in touch with more information on updated timeframes and what you need to know to start thinking about applying.

“Winning empowered our students, staff and whānau to embrace change and continue our journey improving our local environment.”
Rob Arrowsmith – Enviro Leader, Oruaiti School